IRCTC Authorised Principal Service Provider +91 91091 35959 · 24 hours, 7 days
SiOnline Technomart
Business

Cyber cafe business ideas: which service first?

How a cyber cafe or kirana shop can choose its first added services: six tests, a blank scoring sheet and the order SiOnline suggests on its retailer page.

By the SiOnline Team · Published 17 October 2026 · Updated 28 October 2026 · 11 min read

You run a cyber cafe, or a kirana or general store. Printouts and photocopies keep the lights on, but you’ve been wondering what else could make people walk in more often. A mobile recharge? Electricity bills? Train tickets? Every provider says theirs is the one to add.

A list of ideas won’t settle that. What helps is a simple method you can run with a pencil, using your own customers instead of someone else’s numbers. That’s what this post gives you.

SiOnline’s retailer page puts the starting point in one line: begin with two services that suit your location, then add more. We’ll turn that line into a decision you can actually make. And one thing up front: this post doesn’t rank anything by income. Income depends on your counter, your street and your customers, and nobody can promise it for you.

How do you find out what your customers want?

Start with footfall, because that’s the whole business. SiOnline’s retailer page says every service on it works on people who were already walking past. If your location has no passing trade, extra services won’t create it.

So the first step costs nothing. For two weeks, keep a sheet of paper at the counter. Each time a customer asks for something you don’t offer, make a tick. Write the request in the customer’s own words: “ticket to Indore”, “electricity bill”, “recharge my DTH”, “PAN correction”. Don’t tidy the words up yet.

After two weeks, look at the sheet. If nothing repeats, your problem is traffic, not the service mix, and no new service will fix that. If three or four requests keep coming back, those are your candidates. That’s better evidence than any provider’s brochure.

Which six tests should you use to score a service?

Take each candidate and answer the same six questions. Give 0 for “no” or “don’t know”, 1 for “partly” and 2 for “yes”. Here’s the rule that keeps you honest: leave a score at 0 until you have the answer in writing. The only two exceptions are repeat visits and counter time. Until the service is live, you can score those 1 on your own judgment.

TestThe question to answerWhere the answer comes from
Repeat visitsWould the same customer come back within a month?Your tally sheet
EquipmentCan you start with what is already on the counter?The provider’s page or reply
CostIs the registration cost stated, and do you know what recurs?A published price or a written quote
Rule ownerDo you know who sets the rules and where to read them?The authority named below
Failure handlingDo you know what to do when a transaction fails or stays pending?The provider’s steps
Counter timeHow many minutes does one customer take?The provider’s steps; test in week one

Copy this grid for each shortlist and fill it in.

Test (0, 1 or 2)Candidate 1Candidate 2Candidate 3
Repeat visits
Equipment
Cost
Rule owner
Failure handling
Counter time
Total out of 12

Add up each column. A total of 8 or more makes that service a candidate for your first month. A 6 or 7 means you’ve got open questions: ask the provider, then score again. Under 6, wait. Those cut-offs are our own working rule, not an official one, so move them if your counter is different. They’re only there to push you into a decision.

One more rule. A service quoted “on enquiry” scores 0 on cost until the quote reaches you in writing. That sounds harsh, but a figure you heard over the phone is hard to prove later.

What does the scoring look like in practice?

Here’s a made-up example, only to show how the sheet works. Say your tally shows customers asking for DTH recharge again and again, and twice for a train ticket. You score recharge: repeat visits 2 (prepaid customers come back), equipment 2 (a smartphone and a wallet balance), cost 0 (quoted on enquiry, nothing in writing yet), rule owner 1, failure handling 1, counter time 1. That’s 7. You don’t drop it. You write to the provider, get the quote and the failure steps in writing, and score again. If cost and failure handling go to 2 each, the total is 10, and it’s your first service.

The sheet shows you exactly which question is holding a service back.

What do SiOnline’s pages say about each service?

As of 17 October 2026, this is what SiOnline’s own pages say about five services. “Not stated” means the pages don’t say, so you’ll need to ask.

ServiceRepeat patternEquipmentCost today
Mobile and DTH rechargeSeveral times a month for a prepaid customer (recharge page)A smartphone, internet and a wallet balance; a printer is optionalQuoted on enquiry
Bill payments (BBPS)Bills bring people back monthly (retailer page)A computer or smartphone, internet and a printer; no biometric deviceQuoted on enquiry
Rail ticketing (IRCTC)Brings people through the door (services page)A computer, internet and a printer₹3,000 incl. GST, one-off, non-refundable (Standard)
PAN cards (UTI PSA)Not statedA computer, internet, a printer and a scannerPAN agent registration ₹1,180
FASTagA tag needs topping up while the customer drives (FASTag page)An Android smartphone for SiOnline’s agent login; no computer loginOn enquiry

Next, who actually sets the rules for each one. This matters because when something goes wrong, you’ll want to know whose rulebook to open.

  • Recharge: the operators. Ask SiOnline for their terms in writing.
  • Bill payments: the Reserve Bank of India’s BBPS directions, with NPCI Bharat BillPay Limited as the operator of the system.
  • Rail ticketing: IRCTC, through a Principal Service Provider (PSP).
  • PAN: UTI Infrastructure Technology and Services Limited (UTIITSL) and the Income Tax Department.
  • FASTag: NHAI and IHMCL run the programme, and banks issue the tag.

Recharge and bill payments

These are the two services SiOnline’s pages tie most directly to repeat visits. The recharge page calls the margin small per transaction, and the bill payment page calls it a volume business. So the case for both rests on footfall, not on payout. If you like the idea, read the mobile and DTH recharge page and the bill payment page before you ask for a quote.

Rail ticketing

This one has a published price. The Standard registration is ₹3,000 incl. GST, one-off and non-refundable, and it is for OTP login (source: SiOnline’s IRCTC pricing page). An agent ID also carries a monthly maintenance charge of ₹236 and a yearly renewal. Both are on the fees page.

The Class 3 DSC is optional on that page, at ₹6,000 incl. GST for 2 years. Ask SiOnline which login suits you before you buy a DSC.

And one thing people often get wrong: IRCTC does not register a new retail agent directly. Principal Service Providers do, and IRCTC lists them in a PDF on its own site.

PAN cards

PAN is priced differently. SiOnline’s PAN agent registration is ₹1,180 (source: SiOnline’s PAN agent page, read on 17 October 2026), and the ID is wallet-based: you load a wallet, and each application is deducted from it. The government fee for a PAN application is a separate matter from that ₹1,180. The Income Tax Department and UTIITSL publish it, so read it on their pages, not on a shop’s price list.

FASTag

FASTag needs the most careful questions. IHMCL says a customer buys a FASTag at the point-of-sale outlets of member banks or their distribution agents (IHMCL, FASTag user page). On SiOnline’s FASTag agent page, agents are onboarded through an issuing bank’s channel programme.

FASTag agent fees and commission are not published here. SiOnline shares the figures for your case on enquiry. Ask for them in writing before you pay anything.

Which order suits a kirana shop, and which a cyber cafe?

On SiOnline’s current become-a-retailer page, the usual order is recharge and bill payments first. The page says they’re cheap to start and bring people back monthly. Ticketing or PAN come later, once the counter has a rhythm. The same page calls switching on everything in week one the commonest mistake.

A kirana shop usually has a smartphone, internet and little else. That points straight to recharge and bill payments, since they need the least. Add rail ticketing (a computer, internet, a printer) or PAN (those plus a scanner) once your tally sheet shows people asking.

A cyber cafe is different. If you already have a computer, a printer, a scanner and internet, you pass the equipment test for most services, so equipment won’t separate your options. What will is repeat visits, cost and counter time.

Here your own tally sheet counts for more than any suggested order. SiOnline’s current services page says to start with whichever service your customers already ask for, and adds that most agents start with IRCTC ticketing because it brings people through the door. So if your regulars keep asking for rail tickets, ticketing may rank first for you, even though the retailer page suggests recharge.

How many services can you handle at once?

Fewer than you think. Every new service adds a new screen to learn, a new set of ways it can fail, and a new set of customer questions. Learn two properly before you touch a third.

Also be careful with services that need an Aadhaar biometric device. They carry their own rules and equipment, so ask SiOnline support what is available for your location before you promise one to a customer.

How do you judge a service after switching it on?

Use the same sheet. Each week, write down three numbers: how many customers used each service, how many of them had used it at your counter before, and how many asked for something you couldn’t do. The second number matters most, because repeat customers are the whole reason you added a service.

Next to those, write down what the service costs you each month. For an IRCTC agent ID, that includes the ₹236 monthly maintenance charge (source: SiOnline’s fees page).

Don’t judge income in week two, because a new service has a learning period. Wait four weeks and look only at your own books. Then ask one plain question: did this service bring back people who were already coming, or bring in new ones? If it did neither, stop, and go back to the next candidate on your grid.

What mistakes should you avoid?

A few come up again and again when a shop adds services.

  • Starting everything together. Five new screens in one week means you’ll be slow at all five.
  • Paying on a spoken figure. If a price was said on a call, ask for it in a message you can keep.
  • Ignoring the failure steps. The first time a payment hangs or a transaction stays pending, a customer is standing in front of you. Know what you’ll do, and which reference you’ll give to support, before it happens.

What should you ask before switching a service on?

Put these questions to the provider in writing, whichever service you pick:

  • What is the registration cost, and is any part refundable?
  • What recurs: monthly charges, yearly renewals, a minimum balance?
  • What equipment does it need, and what can I use that I already have?
  • What do I do when a transaction fails or stays pending, and what reference do I give support?
  • Who sets the rules, and where can I read them myself?

SiOnline’s published costs for IRCTC and PAN are on its pricing page. For other services, the figure depends on the bank or partner you’re onboarded through, and SiOnline gives it on enquiry.

Questions shop owners ask

Should I add every service at once?

No. SiOnline’s retailer page calls switching on everything in week one the commonest mistake and suggests starting with two services.

Do I need a new shop to add these services?

No. SiOnline’s retailer page says the services work far better with an existing counter that already gets walk-in customers. Without footfall, you’re trying to build two businesses at once.

Does one registration cover all the services?

Don’t assume so. SiOnline’s IRCTC fees page describes the ₹4,000 incl. GST Premium plan as adding IRCTC tourism services, FASTag, bill payments and PAN card “and more”, and explains the rest on a call (source: SiOnline’s fees page). Don’t add costs together yourself. Ask what each service needs before you pay.

When you’ve got your tally sheet and a shortlist of two services, describe your counter on SiOnline’s retailer enquiry form. Fees, rules and service availability change, so confirm them at the source before you act. Sources: IRCTC PSP list and IHMCL FASTag user page, retrieved 17 October 2026; RBI Bharat Bill Payment System Directions, 2024, dated 29 February 2024; SiOnline’s retailer, recharge, bill payment, IRCTC fees, pricing, services, PAN agent and FASTag agent pages, read on 17 October 2026.

Sources

Official pages linked in this article:

Fees, dates and rules change. Confirm them at the source before you act.

SiOnline Technomart

Written by the SiOnline Team

The SiOnline Team researches and writes these guides from official sources, and updates them when the sources change.

Not an agent yet?

Registration is ₹3,000

Incl. GST, one-off. We check your eligibility before you pay.

IRCTC agent registration
Need a hand?

Support runs 24 hours, 7 days

If this guide does not cover your case, call and ask. You will get a person who knows the rules.

+91 91091 35959

Send us an enquiry

Takes about a minute. Submit your details below. No payment at this stage.

No payment required. This is an enquiry, not a completed registration.

Ready to start booking on your own agent ID?

We check your eligibility against IRCTC's requirements before you pay, so the application is not rejected.